Facebook motivation – part 2

A while back I wrote a post about reconnecting with a bunch of high school and college friends on Facebook and especially how motivating it’s been to see what great shape many of them are in. (Needless to say, I’m on a two-year mission to be in some kind of decent shape for my 30-year high school reunion in 2012)

Well, I guess you have to take the good with the not so good. Through Facebook I’ve learned that a frat brother of mine is battling colorectal cancer. He’s going through chemo yet his trademark off-center sense of humor is as strong as ever and I pray he’ll beat this.

The hard slap in the face is that a guy, just a few months older than me, is dealing with a cancer that guys our age aren’t supposed to worry about until we hit the big 5-0.

So I suppose this means that in addition to eating more fiber, exercising, and avoiding mass quantities of red meat, I guess I need to accelerate the plans I had for my 50th birthday colonoscopy!

Leave a Reply

