Happy teacher appreciation week!

This week is teacher appreciation week.

I’m torn over whether or not this is simply an observance drummed up by the greeting card companies. Although, I have had a great time helping my daughter procure gifts for her very wonderful teacher Mrs. Woods.

We didn’t have teacher appreciation day when I was a kid, but if we did, here are some of the teachers who, over the years, I’ve come to appreciate.

Mrs. Totoro – My Kindergarten teacher and my first crush.

Sister Marsellious – My fifth grade teacher. I know I’ve butchered her name. What I remember most, and appreciate the most, is that she was so mean that she scared me into having some discipline, which ultimately made me a better student.

Mr. Mandel – My sixth grade teacher, I don’t remember much other than the fact that this was one smooth cat.

Mrs. Garfield – My freshman year high school algebra teacher. I flunked her class. I appreciate her because she helped me learn that it is possible to bounce back from failure.

Mrs. Fordham – My sophomore year high school English teacher and the faculty advisor for my high school newspaper. She was a funny lady, with an iron hand.

Mr. Murphy – My junior year humanities teacher and the teacher who played a major role in my love for writing, both as a pastime and a livelihood.

Dr. Michael McGraw and  Dr. Rick Dool – These are two of my graduate school professors. I appreciate them because they are serving as the inspiration for a possible midlife career change that’s been brewing in the back of my mind.

Missing from this list are my undergraduate teachers. If you’re a regular reader of the Midlife Chronicles, you might remember that during those years between 1982 and 1986, I learned more outside of the classroom than I did in.

I enjoyed school, for the most part. I hope Zoe can look back 40 years from now and say the same thing!

Leave a Reply

