My happy father’s day

I once met a guy who defined optimism as being able to find the capacity in ourselves to be positive. This is something I never had too much problem with and as I careen further and further into the middle ages, I realize that I didn’t get this way by accident.

Syracuse University freshman year (What's up with those shorts?!?)

Among many other things, I owe my rosy outlook on life to my father. Big John, as he was called around the way, left us nearly 21 years ago. While he’s no longer here physically, his spirit lives on – particularly his optimism – in yours truly.

I often think if I only get one thing right as a parent, I hope I will pass along to Zoe an optimistic spirit, that ability to always find the capacity in ourselves to be positive.

So as I enjoy celebrating Father’s day with Zoe and Mrs. McCullough, in my mind, I am also celebrating the memory of one great dad – Big John.

2 comments

  1. Rosemary

    Nice tribute. As parents, I think we all hope we leave that kind of legacy with our kids – at least, I do! Hope you enjoyed a lovely father’s day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

