I saw the Expendables today!

Unless you’ve been living under a rock the past 25 years, you know what you’re getting when you buy a ticket to a Stallone movie. I don’t think I’m spoiling too much when I say that in this film, you’re getting a healthy dose of compound fractures, amputations, and decapitations.

The church scene with Sly, Bruce and the Governor…long overdue! The fight scene between Couture and Austin was classic. It was like a well-choreographed mash-up between Ultimate Fighting and the WWE. Now I might be spoiling a bit here, but one of these guys won’t be in the sequel.

Statham and Rourke turned in outstanding performances. Ivan Drago…I mean Dolph Lundgren was a surprise standout. Sly, Li, and the other guys…they just kicked a$$. I’m no Siskel or Ebert, so forgive me if I can’t cobble together a witty review.

I can tell you that seeing a film like this for the plot is like looking at Playboy for the articles. If you want a story, go see that new movie with Eric Roberts’ kid sister.

Certainly this movie is not for everyone. In fact, looking around the theater today, the audience was full of midlife males who could have easily been my high school and college buddies.

Other than Statham, the rest of these guys are over 40, and Sly is in his 60s.I may be a little biased, but I can’t help wondering if those precious young pretty boys in the vampire movies will still be getting it done 25 years from now!?!?

See it or don’t see it. It’s up to you. As for me, I think I’ll throw another 5 on the bench tomorrow!

One comment

  1. chris lawrence SU 89

    love this review! heard from the NY POST that the movie totally sucked…but based on your review i will watch it on video…nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

