Endurance!

Just as I’m fighting coming to terms with my advancing age, as evidenced by the fact that I really have no interest in any aspect of the recent 2010 MTV Video Music Awards (except, maybe Cher doing serious justice to her gear from the If I Could Turn Back Time video), do I come across this feature article in the Aspen Times Weekly.

Come on, you just might like it!

Yes, I’m biased, but you should click through. It’s a pretty decent read.

In a nutshell, it talks about how John Oates “has forged a new kind of persona for himself.” It also shows how good music endures over the years.

I’ve always been partial to John. He’s always been the low-key guy, holding down the rhythm in the background, not looking to be the front man, but getting the job done quietly behind the scenes.

Man, he really reminds me of someone….

Anyone who knows me well knows I am an unabashed fan of Daryl Hall and John Oates. When I read articles such as the Aspen Times Weekly piece, I get a sense of pride. I’m proud that I’ve stuck with these guys over the years.

No, they’re not racking up number 1 hits. No, they’re not in heavy video rotation on MTV (does MTV even show videos anymore?). No, they’re not selling out arenas. However, they, John in particular, seem comfortable in their skin and doing exactly what they want to be doing.

A goal all of us midlifers should strive toward!

P.S. Just for old times sake!

Leave a Reply

