Decisions

I didn’t offer up a Valentine’s Day post this year. I think all of you in the sound of my virtual voice know how much I love my wife and while it’s nice to celebrate Valentine’s Day – that fun, candy-filled, greeting card, red roses kind of day – I try to do my best to also show my love during the other 364 days of the year.

For us Valentine’s Day was also our wedding anniversary. Valentine’s Day 2011 marked our 13th anniversary. Again, you don’t need me to remind you how happy I am.

What compelled me to write this post is a conversation I had with a buddy who is a long-time soldier in the confirmed bachelor army. When I told this person we were celebrating our 13th anniversary he looked at me, sort of cocked his head to the side and scrunched up his mouth in such a way that I thought he was going to say “What you talking about Willis?!?”

He couldn’t grasp a couple lasting that long.

Being the live and let live kind of guy I am, I didn’t see any point in attempting to sway this guy toward support of the institute of marriage. Nor did I intend to launch into a Dr. Phil relationship expert rant. I pretty much told him that one of the secrets to my marital longevity is the decision I made those many years ago to marry my best friend.

Decisions…along the way I’ve made some stunningly boneheaded ones – in various aspects of my life (That Jheri curl in the summer of `81 being among the more humorous examples. Curl activator in the summer sun. Get the imagery?? ) – but 13 years later, marrying my best friend was one of the best, wisest, and pleasantly enduring decisions I’ve ever made.

Did I convince him? Maybe I did, maybe I didn’t. I hope I did.

(WARNING: Get your insulin pens out; I’m going for a real sugary sweet big finish!)

Everyone should realize the joy that comes as a result of being with the right person, making the right decision, being in love. Not just on those Hallmark, Russell Stover days, but each and everyday.

I know I do!

Leave a Reply

