Taking time for what you enjoy

An occasional reader of these pages recently asked me how I found time to write a blog. A couple of hundred words once a week ain’t exactly akin to writing the long-awaited sequel to War and Peace, so I guess that’s why I’ve never viewed delivering these weekly dispatches as a chore and certainly not a time consuming task.

I answered this inquisitor that, for me, it’s not about finding time; it’s more about taking time to do something I enjoy.

I enjoy rambling on during our weekly get-togethers! I especially enjoy writing material that doesn’t have to go through any extensive review process. I enjoy that the only person who approves this content is the person who writes this content (I say with one foot firmly perched on my ‘stick it to the man’ soapbox and my metaphorically militant black-gloved fist raised high in the air!)

Let’s get back to the issue of taking time.

If you take into consideration there’s 168 hours in any given week, is it asking too much of ourselves (or perhaps of those controlling our time) to carve a few minutes out of those 168 hours for time to do something we enjoy?

Whatever that ‘something’ is.

For many of us, life is filled, arguably overflowing, with things we have to do.  I’m sure you don’t need me to remind you what some of those things are. If for no other reason than to maintain a level of sanity, I think we all need to step back, slow down and ask ourselves, are we taking time to do at least one thing that we truly enjoy?

Chatting with you once a week is something I really enjoy, and as I stride through the middle ages – in an effort to practice what I preach – I will do all I can to carve even more time out of those 168 hours to do more of the things I really enjoy.

 

An occasional reader of these pages asked me how I found time to write a blog. A couple of hundred words once a week ain’t exactly akin to writing the long-awaited sequel to War and Peace, so I guess that’s why I’ve never viewed delivering these weekly dispatches as a chore and certainly not a time consuming task.

I answered this inquisitor that, for me, it’s not about finding time; it’s more about taking time to do something I enjoy.

I enjoy rambling on during our weekly get-togethers! I especially enjoy writing material that doesn’t have to go through any extensive review process. I enjoy that the only person who approves this content is the person who writes this content (I say with one foot firmly perched on my ‘stick it to the man’ soapbox and my metaphorically militant black-gloved fist raised high in the air!)

Let’s get back to the issue of taking time.

If you take into consideration there’s 168 hours in any given week, is it asking too much of ourselves (or perhaps of those controlling our time) to carve a few minutes out of those 168 hours for time to do something we enjoy?

Whatever that ‘something’ is.

For many of us, life is filled, arguably overflowing, with things we have to do, and I’m sure you don’t need me to remind you what some of those things are. If for no other reason than to maintain a level of sanity, I think we all need to step back, slow down and ask ourselves, are we taking time to do at least one thing that we truly enjoy?

Chatting with you once a week is something I really enjoy, and as I stride through the middle ages – in an effort to practice what I preach – I will do all I can to carve even more time out of those 168 hours to do more of the things I really enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

