Today



I was absent from these pages last week. It was my birthday week and I gave myself a break. While I was away (digitally speaking) I thought about what I would ramble on about in the first post of my 47th year.

I came up with a few ideas, many of which I may share over the coming weeks. However, one idea/thought/revelation rose to the top of the list.

I’ve been reading The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle. This book has been lingering on my literary to-do list for a few years since I first learned about it on Oprah (What, you’re surprised a rugged, rough and tumble, oozing with testosterone he-man like me is an Oprah fan!?!?).

This isn’t a new book. I’m not breaking any news and I won’t go all New York Times Book Review on you and launch an in-depth analysis. I will simply call out one concept that’s appropriate to discuss a couple of days post-birthday. It’s the author’s thesis that – and I’m paraphrasing – if you want to be happy, live for today.

Tolle also spends a lot of time talking about enlightenment – which is a lofty concept that is like arugula and frisee with aged balsamic and truffle oil – way too fancy for my iceberg and Jersey beefsteak with ranch sensibilities.

But happiness – that I understand!

27, 47 or 77, living a happy life is about being present, being happy about where you are now. If you’re not happy, perhaps do something to make you happy. Yes, that’s challenging and easier said than done, but it’s well worth the effort.

Tolle argues that we should also be happy about who we are now. Again paraphrasing, we shouldn’t get all hung up over the grays in our goatee, the rings around our trunk or the miles on our chassis.

So as I settle into a new year, although I may reminisce about the past, I won’t dwell in it. I may dream and imagine about the future but I certainly won’t worry about it. I’m going to move heaven and earth to squeeze as much life and happiness as I can out of today! Care to join me??

Leave a Reply

