Goodbye Elmo!

Sadly I’ve been in deep denial, which has prevented me from doing this sooner, but this week I said a sad goodbye to Elmo. Specifically, I unsubscribed from my Sesame Street newsletters. It’s not that I’ve had a falling out with Oscar, the Count, Tully and the gang….well…it’s just that….oh it’s hard to say….my daughter has moved on to more mature pursuits and no longer has much interest in activities on Sesame Street.

As I write this, I’m thinking back to Christmas 2003 – our daughter’s first – when the floor around our Christmas tree was strewn with Sesame Street paraphernalia. Good times! Now, the magic has faded. Not too long ago, we did a little spring cleaning – donating a lot of old stuff to charity. To my surprise, she wasted no time packing up what were once treasured Sesame Street DVDs. To compound my heartbreak, when I told her that Sesame Street Live is returning to Atlanta, she gave me that ‘duh I’m a big girl’ look and went back to pecking away on her laptop (Windows that is…of course she wants an iPad, but that’s a topic for another day!)

No complaints. In fact, I’m pleased to see that our daughter’s cultural appetite is quite diverse. It’s hard to pigeon-hole her. She loves listening to Majic 107.5 on the way to school just as much as loves singing along to the assortment of you know who on Daddy’s iPod during the ride home. She has a half-dozen or so of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series and she actually looked over my shoulder at a few Kindle screens as I was reading E. Lynn’s last work.

Of course I can’t expect my daughter to remain an Elmo loving toddler forever, and while it is hard to accept that my little girl is growing up, it is very fascinating to see her tastes and interests develop and change from day-to-day, right before my eyes!

Yes, and I know this is only the beginning!

Leave a Reply

