Warming up

I like to hit the gym first thing in the morning. One of the seemingly unavoidable challenges of doing a rep or two so early in the morning is the time it takes to get the blood flowing throughout the body after 7 or 8 hours of nighty-night (You are getting 7 or 8 hours of sleep aren’t you?). Of course, the deeper we travel through the middle ages, the more time it takes to get those little blood cells along their merry way.

You may recall last week, I offered some thoughts on the value of motivation. Please indulge me just a few more minutes to share another example of something I find quite motivating. In this particular case, it is something that further motivates me to get my carcass out of bed in the morning to lift a weight, do a crunch, run a mile or otherwise improve my physical condition.

It’s the story of bodybuilder Ernestine Shepherd. Being a 74-year-old competitor would be accomplishment enough, but what motivates me even more is the fact Ernestine became seriously interested in fitness at the tender age of 56. 

I have a feeling Ernestine doesn’t stress out too much about getting warmed up in the morning. 

Her story is a compelling one, especially for those of us who have long fought to gain, regain or maintain some level of health and physical fitness. 

Now don’t get me wrong. I have no plans of going all steamed chicken and poached egg whites and I don’t think I’ll be super setting my way toward trying to look like Carl Weathers, circa 1982. After all, at this stage of my life, my eye of the tiger has reading glasses over it, which provides me a much clearer look at what’s important – whoa, did I digress!! 

Where was I?? Oh yeah, getting out of bed in the morning…

I would love to get up late, eat bacon and biscuits every morning, and enjoy ab work no more strenuous than picking the lint out of my navel – but since I don’t want my waist line to match my age or my weight to match my area code, I’ll continue to roll out of the sack and roll into the gym – maybe not as hard as Ernestine, but I’ll do the best I can. 

Care to join me? Once we get warmed up, anything is possible.

 

 

One comment

  1. Rosemary

    I’m in! Been blogging my own health quest, as a matter of fact, motivated by the 5 tacked onto the end of my 40 and the area-code worthy number on the scale. Though I’m starting with the egg whites and moving on gradually from there … But I like where your inspiration comes from. My own grandmother started skating in her 50s and went on to compete and to teach. It’s never too late!

    Like

Leave a Reply

