Summertime

As you can see by the photo below, it was face painting day at Zoe’s day camp. The happiest time of the day for me is picking Zoe up at the end of a long, hard day of field trips, swimming, play outdoors and face painting.

Just another day at the office!

Listening to her breathlessly tell me about her day easily makes me smile.

I enjoy seeing her and her contemporaries running around and enjoying themselves without a care in the world, and at 8 years of age heading into third grade, why should they have any worries? 

It makes me remember the summer of 72. That was when I was eight and on the way to third grade. Thinking back, I didn’t do day camp, so the most I had to worry about was whether I’d be playing hide and seek, dodgeball, or riding my Sears three speed around the neighborhood. 

While third grade means a little more math, a little more language arts and here in Georgia, third grade marks the beginning of the CRCT tests – Zoe and her crew don’t seem to care. Much like yours truly and the gang on Drexel avenue some 39 years ago. 

Second to third, third to fourth and I suspect fourth to fifth are pretty easy, carefree transitions. The harder years are just around the corner – going from tween to teen in middle school to be followed by the adventure that is high school. 

Summer jobs, summer crushes, summer school – all not too far away, but for now, like her Daddy back in 72, I am happy to see my daughter enjoying a fun, worry-free summer!

