If at first you don’t succeed, cheat?

Pack your number 2 pencils, get a good night’s sleep and eat a good breakfast, tomorrow is standardized test day!I have no recollection of how I did on those exams, I can’t even remember the name of the specific tests we took back then, but since I made it out of elementary school, I guess I did OK. 

Or maybe I didn’t. 

Maybe the principal and the staff at St. Nick’s changed the results to ensure our humble school remained in the good graces of the bigwigs in the Diocese.  Nah! Changing tests results? No respectable teacher or administrator would ever consider doing such a thing.  Or so one might have thought until the news broke of a scandal in the Atlanta public school system

Hailing from the Garden State, I’ll never be too shocked over public sector misbehavior but it certainly takes on an especially acrid stench when children are involved. We live in Atlanta’s suburban outskirts, so young Ms. McCullough is not caught up in this mess, but we have friends whose kids, unfortunately, are. It’s a sorry situation. The idea of a bunch of educators allegedly (the old radio news guy in me requires that I say allegedly) hunkered down in a room, shades drawn, with a bunch of erasers and number two pencils changing test answers is simply disgusting.

Teaching is an honorable profession, for many dedicated professionals it is a calling. Too bad a handful of alleged perpetrators felt a need (or were compelled) to break the rules.

We’re fortunate to be in a great school system and to have a principal with great integrity. I feel for my fellow parents in the ATL, and their kids. There are so many things we have to worry about regarding our children (in fact I keep a running list). It stinks that fudging the results on a standardized test might be one of them.

Leave a Reply

