Business casual

In the past week or so since the loss of Apple’s Steve Jobs, much has been said about his contributions to business, technology, entertainment and culture. One of my favorite haunts for news, the Daily Beast, took a look at another area impacted by Mr. Jobs – the world of business fashion.

Steve Jobs’s Timeless Geek Chic 

We will always remember the Steve Jobs look – the black mock turtleneck, the jeans and the running shoes, and as the article points out – Jobs could have easily decked himself out head to toe in the latest threads fresh off the fashion runway, yet he opted for his standard issue uniform. I love this article and this unique take on a not so regularly spoke of, yet compelling aspect of the Jobs impact.

One of those dreaded ‘climb the ladder’ type corporate sayings goes “dress for the job you want, not the job you have.” Earlier in my career, I subscribed to that way of thinking, but as I’ve gotten older…well let’s just say I don’t spend as much time in the men’s department at Macy’s or Nordstrom’s, and I’m doing OK career wise (on most days).

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t go into the office dressed like Jethro Bodine. It’s just that I don’t waste too much time (or $$) attempting to put lipstick on a pig, My fashion style tends to border more on comfort and practicality and less on haute couture and trying to be something I’m not (…and have no desire to be).

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice.
Steve Jobs: Stanford commencement address, June 2005

Yeah, our time is limited, and unfortunately, we all can’t invent the next great technological contribution to society. We can, however, strive vigorously to be as present and comfortable in our skin as Steve Jobs was…as comfortable as a mock turtleneck, jeans and a pair of running shoes.

6 comments

  1. Michael Charney (@BeckIsALib)

    Nice way of connecting Jobs’ attire to a meaningful worldview. I’ve never thought of it that way.

    There’s an interesting side note to the story, which also tells us something about him: his original intention was to use the black turtleneck as a uniform for Apple. he bought hundreds of them, but his staff didn’t take to the idea. So he also learned that one man’s vision can only be part of another’s.

    Like

  2. Angela

    Interesting take. Steve Jobs was confident but didn’t feel he needed to prove anything to the world. The image he portrayed was one of a genuine, approachable individual.

    Like

  3. Lanre

    Listening to and obeying ones inner voice is really important especially if one of our main goals is success. It’s also important to learn from the masters too, but with common sense. I dress the way I want, in line with what the occasion demands. If I’m not comfortable in it, I’m not wearing it.

    Like

  4. Alexis

    First of all, I must say, I love the title of your blog. I started mine from my “Quarter Life Crisis”, so I totally get it. 🙂

    I love this article. I hadn’t really noticed Steve Jobs’ style, but I am so glad he stayed true to who he was instead of trying to portray a certain image. That is exactly how I live my life and I encourage others to do the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

