Lunch date

Despite having read both of Mr. Ferrazzi’s books about building relationships and not eating alone, I still do – during the workday lunch hour that is. 

But I’m working on it! 

Today, I didn’t eat alone. In fact, I dined in a packed eating establishment with some of Atlanta’s smartest, up and coming future leaders. Today I enjoyed an early Thanksgiving lunch with my daughter at her school. You know, as I think about it there were other adults there, so technically you could say this was a networking lunch…but I digress. 

Zoe is getting close to the age where hanging out with dear old dad is bordering on being passé, but despite her best efforts toward appearing coolly un-phased, there was still a twinkle in her eye and a quick, controlled smile crossed her face when her class filed by the assembled parents and she saw pops waiting for her. 

Frequent readers of these pages know I enjoy participating in activities at the kid’s school, but the annual Thanksgiving lunch is one of the highlights of my parental duties – even though the veggies could have stood a bit more seasoning and I may have to lobby the school system to procure a higher quality brand of canned cranberry sauce. 

As always, I get to hang out with some of Zoe’s friends – some of whom are old timers who have been around since Kindergarten. This year, I had the pleasure of meeting a young man who happens to be interested in my first (and only) born. That part of the lunch didn’t go well (yeah, I know you’re not surprised), and once I completely calm down and gather my thoughts, I’ll share that experience with you at some point down the road. (…as I slowly count to ten) 

When I was in third grade, the pre-Thanksgiving highlight was tracing our hand with a crayon and scribbling a beak at the tip of the thumb and calling it a turkey. They certainly didn’t have special lunches for parents back in the 70s. I don’t know why. Maybe the ’73 oil embargo had something to do with it? Oh well! I’m glad they do now and I’m glad I have the opportunity to get away from the desk and the desktop to enjoy an early Thanksgiving with a young lady for whom I’ll always be thankful!

4 comments

  1. Michael Charney (@BeckIsALib)

    The one thing I will never, ever regret is making sure I participated in my son’s life when he was growing up. (He’s well into his 30s now…). I umpired his little league games, cheered him on at his biking/freestyle competes, etc., etc., If I needed to leave work early, I did. If I had to skip something I would normally love to do (like a jam session with some friends), I did. I barely remember what I missed, but I clearly remember what I didn’t miss–his time. And he remembers all of it.

    Good for you, and good for Zoe. She’ll remember it, too.

    Like

  2. Marcia Clarke

    Always take time to participate in everything concerning Zoe; take it from me–they grow up way too fast. Enjoy her!

    Our two daughtes are now grown with families of their own and we now have 3 grandchildren (yes,we are doting on them) anytime we can. Two live in the ATL, one in Florida–I visit as often as I can to see all my girls (2 daughters, 3 granddaughters) Loving life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

