How I spent my Saturday

As you may or may not know, I’m active in Zoe’s school PTA. This evening was the Mother-Son version of the Father-Daughter dance we chatted about a few weeks ago.

As part of the preparation of this annual gala, several balloon arches are created to adorn the doorway that leads to the dance floor.

My new marketable skill

Unfortunately our PTA friend and colleague who usually creates the balloon arches had a sick child, which rendered her available only long enough to pass off the secrets of arch making to a willing neophyte. That eager apprentice you ask? Yours truly.

It’s been more than 20 years since I’ve fumbled with this much latex on a Saturday, yet I persevered, with very little breakage.

It’s fun learning a new skill, especially one that has the potential to open up new career opportunities. Who knows, balloon animals may not be too far away!

A new career awaits!

6 comments

  1. Karen

    That looks great! You did a fantastic job with the balloons. Please tell me you got to use a tank to blow them up though and didn’t have to do it the old-fashioned way… 🙂 Did you have to build anything to help them “Arch” or is there a lot of tape involved?

    Like

  2. Paedra

    “It’s been more than 20 years since I’ve fumbled with this much latex on a Saturday…!”?

    John, you are not only an amazing writer, incredibly astute and hilarious. You also always make me laugh, and save my day!

    Happy Sunday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

