Stretching

I stretched this past weekend. No, not in the downward facing dog sense of the word. It was more of a stretch outside of my comfort zone.

Saturday our school sponsored its first Father-Son Game Day. As I’ve chronicled in these pages, our school PTA already hosts programs for moms and daughters. This event was specifically for the fellas.

We all had a great time and it was a successful event…despite having yours truly as the co-chair!

I’m in my second year on our school PTA board and while I’ve exercised my dubious talents for many of our programs, this is the first time I’ve taken such an active role in the event planning.

Event planning: This is where the stretch comes in.

Event planning is one of those skills I keep way down at the bottom of my bag of tricks. It’s like changing a spare tire. I know how to do it, but I’d still rather call in Triple A to handle it.

Of course for this particular event, I had the pleasure of co-charing along side a skilled, seasoned veteran of more than a few successful programs – which made it much easier. Still, I had to step up and accomplish my share of tasks to ensure the program went off as planned.

It’s good to stretch every now and then – personally and professionally. Fortunately I was able to fall back on an old skill for a useful purpose.

I’m happy that my little stretch didn’t result in a metaphorically speaking pulled hammy.

I’ve had my fill of event planning for the foreseeable future. You certainly won’t be seeing me hanging a shingle and booking weddings and bar mitzvahs any time soon.

I wonder what long, lost talents I’ll unearth next?!?!?

One comment

Leave a Reply

