Neon green laces

I recall the days of my single digits, when sneakers (which of course are now called athletic shoes) came in two colors – black and white. A couple of exceptions that come to mind – around the Bicentennial mid 70s – I recall the availability of red, white and blue Chucks. I also remember being able to get navy blue Pro Keds at one point during my youth.

Of course, if you had a couple of bucks, back in those days you could get a sweet pair of Walt “Clyde” Frazier endorsed blue suede Pumas.Clyde

(And then there was the 80s and my SU orange and white Nikes – the best my should’ve been spent on books work study money could buy, but that’s a story for another day)

Why I am rambling about 1970’s sneaker colors? Well, I’ll tell you!

Don’t ask me why, but I’ve been running in a couple of 5K races lately (hey, there are worse midlife crises one could have). As a result, it’s become necessary to replace my worn out (I call it broken in, but opinions differ) sneakers..ah I mean running shoes.

When I went down the running shoe aisle of my local shoe purveyor, in search of new sneakers, I saw so many neon and fluorescent colors, I thought I was on the set of the Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go video!

neon green lacesTry as I might, I couldn’t find a pair of sneakers that didn’t have some element of neon or fluorescence. The ones I chose fit my monochromatic sensibilities; I just have to do something about these neon green laces.

As I wrote a couple of weeks ago, I can accept that the days of gray cotton sweats, questionably tight shorts and white Chucks are over. It’s just going to take a few more 5Ks before I fully embrace this new colorful world of athletic footwear.
Sadly, it’s just a matter of time until the neon/fluorescent trend invades the athletic supporter market.

Leave a Reply

