It’s easier

Every now and then, I find myself in the middle of something that triggers my latent philosophical gene.

A culinarily inspired rant

A culinary inspired rant

Such was the case when I was adding black pepper (freshly cracked, of course) to a dish I was throwing together not too long ago.

I remembered an old Emeril tip I learned back in the 90s when they used to have non-competitive prime time cooking shows on the Food Network.

Chef Lagasse stressed that it’s important to go easy when adding seasoning to a dish, because it’s easier to add seasoning than it is to take it away.

Which got me to thinking — in what other aspects of life might this rule or a slight variation thereof fit?

Here’s a small, very random list. You might have others:

  • It’s easier to earn and maintain trust than it is to regain it
  • It’s easier to know your limits than recover from getting in over your head (or at least it should be)
  • It’s easier to put good calories in than it is to burn off bad ones
  • It’s easier to make a friend than deal with an enemy
  • It’s easier to smile and walk than frown and confront (well, most of the time)
  • It’s easier to handle your business than it is to mind someone else’s
  • It’s easier to figure out where you want to go than to find your way when you’re lost

In retrospect, this handful of lessons are things that come a bit easier for me now, in the middle ages, than they did in my not so bright and a lot less insightful youth.

I could go on (especially with another glass or two of the grape under my belt), but it’s easier to stop while I’m ahead than it is to overstay my welcome!

Leave a Reply

