Reading is fundamental

Earlier today I finished my first volunteer year with Everybody Wins! Atlanta. This is a program that holds weekly Power Lunch sessions, where 1st through 4th grade students are paired with volunteers who serve as reading mentors.

I had the pleasure of reading with a 2nd grader from Atlanta’s Thomasville Heights Elementary School. (Editorial comment: To my out of town friends, please don’t harshly judge the entire Atlanta Public School system based on what you might have read or seen in the media.)

My mentee

My mentee

I was a little rusty at first. You see my talented and gifted soon to be 5th grade daughter Zoe reads better than I do, so I don’t get much of an opportunity to read to youngsters these days.

Fortunately, it came back to me pretty quickly.

During my school days, I enjoyed reading (even that fancy Romantic stuff I had to read in college).

Thinking back to my elementary years, I can recall one or two of my classmates who could have benefitted from an opportunity to spend time with a reading mentor.

I’m never one to shy away from looking wistfully back at the good old days, and while it’s debatable whether or not we had it better back then, you certainly can’t argue about the value of this generation’s programs, especially ones like Everybody Wins! Atlanta.

I’m looking forward to the new school year!

Leave a Reply

