Star Sightings

Who would have thought I’d be getting star struck in my old age?

At the risk of dipping my freshly French pedicured toe into the waters of discussing the ol’ 9 to 5, let’s just say there were a couple of celebrity sightings.

The first one I’ll share is the chance I had to meet Atlanta Braves President John Schuerholz.

Braves President John Schuerholz

Braves President John Schuerholz

The last time I seriously followed baseball was when I was a young Phillies fan in South Jersey watching guys like Steve Carlton, Mike Schmidt and Greg “The Bull” Luzinski.

I have to admit, it’s nice living in a major league sports market. Unlike my youth, I no longer have to cross a river – Delaware or Hudson – to catch a live sporting event.

Forgive me. I digress. Back to the photo.

Not being a huge Braves fan, I didn’t set out to meet the team prez, but he was so friendly and engaging with all of the fans in the room, I figured, what the heck – jump on in.

Strange, now that I’ve met the boss and subsequently went to a game, I’m feeling the urge to break out into a tomahawk chop!

My second brush with celebrity involves a pair of reality stars.

Real Housewives of Atlanta cast member Cynthia Bailey and her husband Peter Thomas

Real Housewives of Atlanta cast member Cynthia Bailey and her husband Peter Thomas

Real Housewives of Atlanta (which you know you watch) cast member Cynthia Bailey and her husband Peter Thomas were on hand to promote their upcoming book (which I’m not paid to promote, so if you’re interested, feel free to look it up).

This photo op started when I went up to Peter to shake his hand – it’s an over 45 rocking the bald head thing that if you’re not over 45 and rocking a bald head, you probably won’t understand – and Cynthia asked if I wanted to get a picture.

Yeah, my voice went up an octave and I went all school girl giddy as I gleefully wedged myself between the Bravo stars.

They are both very nice people – even with folks like me who aren’t exactly in their fan demographic.

And yes, I got an autograph…don’t judge!

Don't judge

Don’t judge

Leave a Reply

