Do more

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions. I’ve always thought that if there’s something you need to accomplish or some area of your life that requires change, you should just figure out how to do it (which ain’t always easy), roll up your sleeves and get to work. It doesn’t matter if it’s January 1st or any other day during the year.2014

Now that I got that off of my heaving bosom, let’s continue.

But this year (maybe because it’s my 50th), If I were going to make a resolution, I suppose one thing I’d have to resolve is to simply do more in 2014.

What do I mean by do more, you ask? Well, it’s not just one thing. Off the top of my head I can think of several things I (and maybe you can too) can do more of in 2014.

Here we go:

  • Love more
  • Learn more
  • Talk more (you know, that face-to-face thing we used to do before there were smartphones!)
  • Work more (and God knows I don’t mean in the 9 to 5 sense)
  • Play more
  • Pray more (and this is as close to religion as I’ll get in these pages)
  • Move more (and this is as close to exercise as I’ll get in these pages)
  • Read more
  • Write more (a subtle shout out to all of my fellow armchair bloggers out there, and I could use a little self-encouragement here as well)

Am I missing anything? I’m sure I am. Maybe they’ll come to me over Mimosas later this morning.

Do more – yes, it’s easier said than done, but it’s certainly worth a try isn’t it? As the year goes on, I hope to share with you some progress against these objectives.

Happy New Year and if you’ve made a resolution I wish you well in your quest to accomplish it!

Leave a Reply

