Retirement Envy

“Envy is the ulcer of the soul.”
Socrates

I have a friend who shared with me the story of a recent weekend trip (Yes, it’s really a friend. I’m not doing that ‘say it’s a friend to hide that I’m referring to myself gimmick’).  She traveled to New York to hang with some buddies she’s known since high school.

Several of these folks are retired.

Upon her return, she says, she felt a sense of envy because a couple of her closest friends get to see plays, travel and otherwise have fun whenever they want because they have made the choice to retire, while she’s still working for the man five days a week.

When I caught up with my friend after her weekend jaunt, she told me that she returned home with a bad case of “retirement envy.”

Don't fall prey!

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons

Since me and my high school buddies are a couple of decades (At the very least!) away from punching that time clock for the last time, I regret that it is hard for me to feel any empathy over my friend’s situation. Although I do understand how easy it is to feel a sense of envy when you perceive that someone is in a better situation than you.

O.K. pass the acetaminophen (No brand names, please, because I’m all about the generics!). I’m about to do some deep philosophical thinking which always gives me a headache!

For me, envy is a motivator. Rather than getting upset, depressed or jealous over someone who you think is doing better than you, why not turn that negative energy (Look at me getting ‘new age’ in my ‘middle age’!) into active energy. Notice I didn’t say positive. Don’t just be ‘positive’, get ‘active’ and do something!

Taking action is not always easy, but it certainly beats sitting in a corner pissed off.

My friend is taking action (and I’m excited to be helping). Me? I feel pretty motivated as I enter decade number six.

 You?

Leave a Reply

