Rock and roll heaven in my mail box

Regular readers of these pages know I stay away from topics too close to the 9 to 5. Plus, there are many folks on the web smarter than me pontificating about communications, so there’s no need for me to add my meager opinions to the mix.

But today, I’ve got a marketing bone to pick.

I received a mailer from a local radio station. The piece is promoting one of those we’ll pay your bills if you listen during a certain day part and call when you hear your name contests.

What took my attention away from the copy was the choice of images on the mailer. As you can see two of the artists pictured are dead.

It's not like Mary J is the only living artist this station plays!

It’s not like Mary J is the only living artist this station plays!

This particular station brands itself as Atlanta’s Best R&B. Couldn’t the promotional folks come up with ‘Best R&B‘ artists who are still alive?

I wonder if I’m the only recipient of this piece in metro Atlanta who feels this way?

It’s been a couple of decades since I’ve had anything to do professionally with radio broadcasting, so I might not be in the best position to criticize. It just seems to me that if you are trying to get your audience excited about your station (or product or service) you might not want to add a creative element that could possibly distract from your message.

I know, it’s probably me over thinking things again, but the minute I grabbed this piece out of my mail box, it saddened me because two of the artists pictured were great voices who left us way too soon.

Leave a Reply

