Taking Care

 

I deeply regret that I’ve been derelict in my duties to bore you with my weekly (nay monthly) rants, but as one of my favorite motivational bloggers Scott Smith says sometimes “life gets in the way.” Such as been the case lately thanks to the combination of making the donuts, a side project here and there and just plain old hot fun in the summertime laziness.

No excuses, I just hope you’ll forgive me.

The good news is while I’ve been away, I’ve stockpiled more than a few things to ramble on about – things that made me laugh, things that pissed me off and as we’ll discuss today – things that have caught my eye and made me think.

Sometimes they get it right!

Sometimes they get it right!

I got an interesting fortune last week from a very nice Chinese joint near the 9 to 5. The fortune read You have a strong instinct to take care of people you love.

The notion of taking care jumped out at me. It’s one of those things that could be taken many ways. From the obvious – providing shelter and three squares to the more obscure. I recall reading an article about pro wrestling where the concept of taking care means not dropping a guy on his head or ‘catching’ the guy who’s jumping off the top rope so he doesn’t go splat on the concrete floor.

Taking care of someone you love is incredibly special, but to quote the great Tina Turner – What’s Love Got To Do With It? I would argue that you don’t always have to love someone to take care of them.

Treating people with respect is taking care. Being accountable for your mistakes and not pointing fingers or tossing folks under the bus is taking care (I’d elaborate on this, but unfortunately it would require me to breach my ‘no ranting about the gig’ firewall).

As I zip through this fascinating midlife period, I’ve come to realize not just the importance of taking care of someone, but the value in – to the greatest degree possible – cutting loose those who aren’t worth the time or those who don’t return the favor.

If I’m jumping off the top rope and you’re not there to catch me – to take care of me – don’t expect me to extend that trust a second time.

I’m grateful for whatever machinations of fate that made it possible for me to get that fortune cookie last week. Yes, I do have a strong instinct to take care of people I love – and for people I like.

I hope all of you in the sound of my voice have someone taking care of you, and I really hope you’re returning the favor.

 

Leave a Reply

