Ties that bind

“So what are you going to do once you retire,” said the curious person to the gentleman who will be punching out for the last time in a couple of months. The future retiree responded, “I don’t know, but whatever I do, I don’t plan on wearing a tie while doing it!”

Now I won’t go too deep and paint a metaphor suggesting that donning a neck tie every day of one’s work life is akin to tying a noose around one’s neck (Oh, but deep down I really want to, but that would not jibe with my trademark sunny disposition, now would it??).

Tie one on!

Tie one on!

Despite being a newly inducted, card-carrying, discount loving AARP member, I’ll still be knotting up the old Four-in-Hand (Windsor if I’m being fancy) for a good amount of pay periods over the foreseeable future, and I’m happy to have the opportunity to do so.

There is something to be said about suiting up at the start of the day and eight (if I’m lucky) or so hours later, performing that symbolic loosening of the tie when it’s time to go home. I guess that’s why I’ve never been a big fan of business casual (which brings back horrible memories of my come as you are days early in the millennium rocking the NY tech PR thing).

I will say that there is a certain sense of freedom in knowing that one no longer has to begin the day with a silk (Or like me, more affordable man-made fabric) garrote around one’s neck.

But until then, excuse me while I pick out a tie for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

