Getting back to it

Where have I been?

Where have I been?

I can’t believe I’ve gone nearly three months without bending your ears. Excuses? That’s not really my thing, but if I were going to travel down that dog ate my homework road, I guess I would talk about my trusty notebook computer crapping out, or how much extra time I’ve been putting into making the donuts, or I could go on about a extra curricular or two I’ve been working on (Interesting how these factors played into my last unplanned hiatus!).

Again, I make no excuses and offer no apologies. Let’s just say that the Midlife Chronicles slid a notch or two down the list of my life’s priorities (yeah, I turn 50, start reading AARP magazine and here I am talking about life’s priorities!), but because I’ve missed our occasional chats, I’m going to hoist them back up to the top of that metaphorical to do list that I keep tucked away in that teeny thing I call a brain.

So here we go…

Or is it?

Or is it?

How could a blogger with a blog titled Midlife Chronicles ignore a decent Wall Street Journal piece on life in the middle ages? If you haven’t read this article, it’s worth checking out.

The Myth of the Midlife Crisis

It reinforces something I’ve been realizing the past 5 or 10 years that midlife ain’t so bad after all, or as the author says “…midlife upheavals are more fiction than fact.”

Looking back over the past 10 years, there really haven’t been any serious crisis to speak of (well, that lung thing, but I’m not going to count that).

The article also talks about the 5th and 6th decades of life as “time of re-evaluation and reassessment.” I like this way of thinking because – in my opinion – the middle ages are more about taking what we’ve learned and trying to making it work in the third and fourth quarters of this game of life.

Pick your poison…money, relationships, health. Midlife is a time to learn from the mistakes and missteps of our youth and armed with life’s hindsight, avoid those slip ups in the future.

Big digression…don’t you hate it when you log on to LinkedIn and you get bombarded with People You May Know recommendations from people in a field in which you no longer (or perhaps should have never) worked in?

Sorry, where was I? Oh yeah – midlife.

I’m enjoying my middle ages, and paraphrasing what I said five years ago when we began our little tête-à-têtes, I’m excited about reflecting on my life’s first half and looking ahead at the possibilities awaiting in the second.

Leave a Reply

