Fool’s Paradise

There’s a commercial for a popular cleaning product that features an older women who says that before using this wonderful cleaning tool she was living in a fool’s paradise for thinking that her home was truly clean.

I had never heard that expression before. In fact, I thought a fool’s paradise was located down the street from the Gangsta’s Paradise immortalized in song some two decades ago.

Intrigued (as I often am by trivial things), I went to Webster’s to find out exactly what is a fool’s paradise, and here’s what I learned:

Fool’s Paradise – A state of deceptive happiness, based on illusions or delusions

That’s pretty deep.

By now you might be asking why am I rambling on about this. Well, I’ll tell you.

A couple of days ago I was having a chat with someone pretty close to me who was carrying the weight of the world on their pretty formidable shoulders.

I attempted to provide some wise counsel along the lines of encouraging this person to refrain from worrying about things out of one’s control, and it was then that I said that I must be living in a fool’s paradise by believing that there is bliss to be found when we stop fretting over things that we can’t control.

Courtesy Cracked.com

Courtesy Cracked.com

Maybe I am deceptively happy. Maybe I am living in a mythical world of unicorns and rainbows. Perhaps I am blinded by illusions and misled by delusions.

Maybe I’m a fool.

Or maybe I’m just at a point in my life where I can clearly see that this life is way too short to worry about things outside of my control, things I can’t do nothing about (Double negatives are so effective in punctuating a points)!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t spend my day walking around like a Don’t Worry Be Happy singing Bobby McFerrin.

I’ve got stuff – a lot of stuff. In fact, last night we…well, I’ll save that for another post.

I just try to channel my energies toward dealing with the stuff that is within my control. I don’t have much room for that other stuff here in my fool’s paradise.

If you agree, come on in – just be careful not to step in the unicorn dung.

 

Leave a Reply

