Friends

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything about the world’s greatest musical duo, so I think I’m overdue. This is less a post about music, but more about friendship. In this case, it’s about a friendship that has lasted more than 40 years.

I came across a very nice photo snapped by Eliot Lewis. Eliot is the keyboard player in the Hall and Oates band. Every now and then, Eliot takes pictures during live shows from his post behind the keyboards.

This is an image of a couple of guys who have not only been friends for decades, but successful business partners – a pretty impressive feat.

Thank you Eliot Lewis

I’ve got friends. I’ve got good friends. But I don’t have friends who I’ve known and worked with for 40 years (I know – 40 years ago I was 10, but just go with me on this one!).

Who knows what the secret to this enduring partnership and friendship is. They’ve both gone on record as saying one of secrets to their success as a duo is building in enough Room to Breathe between the two of them.

Over the years, both have dropped solo albums (remember when new music was released and not dropped?) and other projects. In fact, at 68 years of age, Daryl has just opened a new supper club.

But, in my view, at the core of it all is the creative bond and friendship these guys have shared since they were college kids.

As a fan, it’s great to see and hear that these guys still make beautiful music together.

As a man in the middle ages, it’s inspiring to see a couple of guys several years north of 60 years of age still being productive, still looking great, still getting out there every night and – as the song goes – Do it For Love.

Leave a Reply

