A last minute switch in New Year’s posts

This isn’t the post I had queued up for the first day of the New Year. That post is a pretty decent one, but it can wait.

Instead, I’d like to tell you how much I enjoyed a truly special New Year’s Eve. It didn’t involve putting on my cool threads and my high-heeled sneakers. There was no cork popping. In fact, I didn’t even watch Dick Clark, um, I mean Ryan Seacrest’s Rocking New Year’s Eve.

I spent New Year’s Eve and several hours into the first day of the year helping someone very close to me go through some things.

Please forgive me for being unable to go too deeply into the specifics. The story of this person and what this person is going through is a personal one and as close as you and I are, it’s not something I can share at this time.

If you’ve been paying attention to these pages, you might have heard me allude to this matter in a previous post.

Now, back to New Year’s Eve.2014-2015

If last night was indicative of the kind of year the fates will deal me in 2015, I couldn’t be happier.

Why?

Because last night and during the wee hours this morning, I was provided me an opportunity to help, an opportunity to care, an opportunity to – for just a few important hours – make a difference.

And if I can be this useful over the upcoming 364 days, it is going to be a great year.

I think it was Gandhi who said that the best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.

Please don’t misunderstand me. I’m not lobbying for a gold star or a blue ribbon or even a pat on the back.

The only reward is the one I’ve received. That is a warm feeling of usefulness and satisfaction in knowing I was able to help someone make it through the night.

I don’t feel deprived for having missed the ball drop or not sipping a glass or two of the grape at midnight.

I’m celebrating now.

As I said earlier this isn’t the rant I intended to post today. Resting on my hard drive is a rant about some of my 2015 goals. Sadly, none of those goals have anything to do with anyone other than myself.

That’s right. My goals are all about me. After last night, I’m beginning to realize how wrong I’ve been for thinking that way.

I may need to amend those goals to ensure that at least one of my New Year objectives focus on someone other than myself.

What a powerful resolution we all might consider making. Not losing weight, not saving money, not learning macramé, but simply resolving to make a difference – even temporarily – in someone’s life.

Oh, and by the way, just because the previous 400 or so words are taking on a serious tone doesn’t mean I’ll be ignoring my useful light-hearted take on life in the middle ages.

Finally, we did crack open the bubbly, and as I raised my glass, I made a quiet toast in honor of entering a New Year where I can hopefully be of service to others.

One comment

Leave a Reply

