Bang Bang

My daughter and I went to lunch yesterday. While we waited for our meal, Bang Bang began to play on the restaurant sound system.

Bang Bang is a song (I bet you’d never think would be mentioned in these pages) by Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj. Don’t ask me why, but I really enjoy this song (or as the cool kids say track). There aren’t many pop songs from this millennium that get my attention so for me to tap my foot along with a current hit is saying a lot.

Like any groupie I began to sing along…“Bang bang into the room (I know you want it)
Bang bang all over you (I’ll let you have it)” Bang-Bang

My characteristically loquacious offspring was immediately rendered speechless. You’d have thought I had jumped up and started twerking. She shushed me up and told me that a 50-year old man has no business singing – let alone even liking that song (Of course, I could argue these lyrics are a bit risque for an 11-year old, but that’s a story for another day).

It was then that I immediately flashed back to roughly 1981 when I was in a similar situation with John Sr.

We were at a hardware store picking up something for some project because as we discussed last week, we guys like to fix things. This was back in the day when there were still locally-owned merchants that played locally-owned radio stations in their establishments.

And then it happened, my father broke out in song, “…your kiss is on my list of the best things in life.” That’s right, John Sr. went there. This Sammy, Ella and Frank loving member of the greatest generation had the audacity to sing along to my music.

Hall, Oates and Dad!

Hall, Oates and Dad!

I was a few years older then than Zoe is now, but regardless, back in those days, we didn’t have the liberty to question our parents like my kid’s generation does, so I kept my embarrassment and disapproval to myself.

Never before and never again would I hope a Hall and Oates song would end so quickly.

I guess I should have been happy to see and hear my pop enjoying one of my favorite songs (Several years later, John Sr. and I would see Hall and Oates live. Maybe in a few years, Zoe can sign me out of the rest home and take me to a Jessie J, Arianna Grande, Nicki Minaj show).

I understand why Zoe is so proprietary about her music. She — like me 34-years earlier — has the things she likes, and many of these things are not intended to be shared with Mom and Dad.

Will I continue to enjoy (some of) her generation’s music and will this particular catchy song maintain its spot on my cardio playlist? Yes!

Just next time, when it plays, and we’re together, I will just quietly hum along!

Bang-Bang!

 

 

Leave a Reply

