Accountability

So often on social media, we’re invited to Like this, Pin that, Download this or Follow that. More often than not, I tend to ignore these invitations.

This was not the case with an invitation I received about a month and half or ago. I was invited to participate in the 30 Runs in 30 Days Challenge. This was a Facebook activity where participants were challenged to run, walk or bike at least two miles per day (Longer for bikers) daily for 30 days.

I finished – or shall I say met – the challenge earlier this week after completing a three-mile jaunt around my neighborhood.MLC Accountability_3-3-15-2

As I said, I – like most of you – receive invitations for various activities on the social media platform(s) of your choice, but unlike joining in the latest social media game or liking a celebrity’s fan page, this actually required some action on my part.

No, the hardest part of the challenge wasn’t knocking out two miles a day (Even though I’m not a daily high-impact cardio kind of guy – not since the days of my old Reebok Pumps, circulation-threatening bicycle shorts and STEP classes). It was being accountable for knocking out those two miles a day.

On a side note, these soon to be 51-year-old joints held up pretty nicely running, walking or a two-mile (sometimes more) hybrid of the two over the past month. Even though the challenge is over, I plan to keep this up. As a result, I dropped a couple of pounds and I’m noticing the old trousers are a pinch looser.

Sorry, I digress.

I didn’t know, nor did I have any personal relationship with any of the couple of hundred or so other participants in the challenge, still I felt a strong sense of responsibility not to let them down by failing to complete what I set out to do.

It’s so easy to say “I’m going to do (FILL IN THE BLANK),” but when you have people who will hold you accountable for completing a task, it becomes a real challenge, and when you complete that task, the satisfaction is much more meaningful.

Running Man

A rare selfie one morning at the top of my (least) favorite hill

I know a little something about accountability because I work in a very deadline-driven environment at the ol’ 9 to 5, and in all modesty, on the job, I’m pretty accountable, but in my non-work pursuits my discipline and resolve aren’t as strong (Which is why I still struggle with delivering consistent posts to these pages).

Hopefully completing this challenge will help turn that around.

To my fellow 30 Runs in 30 Days Challenge participants, congratulations, and thanks for keeping me in line these past 30 days!

One comment

Leave a Reply

