Plain brown wrapper

We’ve lived in Georgia for about seven years. One of the customs I’ve had to get used to is not being able to bag my own groceries. In Georgia, either the cashier or a bag person handles the task of bagging items. In Jersey, shoppers do their own bagging.

I miss bagging my own groceries.

Earlier this week I was dispatched to our neighborhood supermarket to pick up a few items. A particular personal hygiene product was among the deliverables on my list.

Pretty routine stuff.

On this particular day, the cashier was working solo – no official bagging personnel to assist. My list that day wasn’t very long so there weren’t many things to bag. One of the last items on the belt was the personal hygiene product. For reasons I have yet to figure out, the cashier opted to double bag this particular personal hygiene item.

She reached under the belt, retrieved a brown paper bag (which I didn’t think were still available), put the item in the bag and then put the paper bagged item – and nothing else – into another grocery bag.

Having something so discretely bagged – you’d have thought I was buying a bottle of ripple or one of those periodicals I’ve heard of, with gripping articles and pictures of scantily clad women.

I don’t embarrass easily – especially the older I get – that’s why I had to chuckle a bit on the inside thanks to this needless display of discretion over the purchase of an innocent personal hygiene product.

I’m still chuckling as I remember this visit to the store and I’m also imagining – as I soar through these middle ages – what personal item purchases will require the brown bag treatment.

 

3 comments

  1. Kevin Surbaugh

    LOL that does sound like over kill. Depending on what you bought I might see wrapping it in another plastic bag to keep it away from food items.

    For example (and I know this isn’t personal care but) health department regulations require cleaning chemicals are to be bagged separately from food (even canned food). Sometimes if it is only one chemical and I know or can tell the customer doesn’t want two bags I will wrap the chemical in another plastic bag and place it in with the canned food. However, fresh produce I will never allow that and the customer generally wouldn’t want me to anyway as there is no other protection with that particular food.
    Sometimes it is hard balancing what the health department wants and the customers desire for fewer bags, but as grocery store employees we make our best efforts (at least most of the time). Of course why this cashier used a 5 cent paper bag instead of a 3 cent paper bag is beyond me. Especially for something that presumably wouldn’t leak (IE I’m guessing Ta**ons).

    Like

  2. Karen

    HAHA! I understand double-bagging meat, but just dump the personal items in the bag with other stuff. But, then again, I don’t know what the rules are (only that there are some) for bagging groceries. So, like you, I just chuckle to myself and go on about my day! And then reuse the free little brown bag for a lunch.

    Like

Leave a comment