An unplanned month off

It’s a couple of days shy of a month since our last conversation. Holiday mirth, a minor writer’s block and a taking of my eye off the proverbial ball as far as sticking to a self-imposed blogging schedule are the main reasons for my absence from these pages the past thirty days.

Yeah, I really let myself go– including falling off the social media radar – save a “Like” here and there, and I totally ignored the venerable ritual of writing and sending Christmas cards.

Please accept my humble apologies! Not one to make excuses, nor one to make serious resolutions – I’ll just say I’m taking a particularly keen interest in making the best use of my time in 2012. I went down this road last year in these pages. I guess I need to read my own rants a bit more closely.

I do pretty well catering to a schedule, hitting deadlines, meeting objectives and all that corporate stuff during those 40 or so hours of my life when I’m making the donuts. I just need to get a little better at bringing that discipline into these hours off the clock.

Minutes to hours – days to months to years – time is a valuable, irreplaceable resource. You can’t really make it – just use it wisely. I don’t want to get all Oprah on you (or on myself), and start going on about living one’s best life, but with the half century mark getting sharper in my sights, part of that best life is making the best use of my time. This is a pretty important task – one that will be a priority in this new year and the new years to come.

Now, what constitutes best use of my time, that’s for me to know and for you to read about!

Happy (belated) New Year!

3 comments

  1. graceyb

    Sometimes getting away from something (even if it is social interaction) makes you come back to it with keener insight and determination! Here’s to a great 2012!

    Like

  2. Sandra McLeod Humphrey

    Happy New Year to you too and one of my resolutions for the new year is to reorganize and prioritize! I think I spread myself way too thin last year and I’m going to have to focus my time much more productively this year. Like your blog and I’ll be back!

    Like

Leave a comment